Brief History of YACC

The Yangon University of Foreign Languages Alumni Central Committee (YACC) was established on 23rd of January 2018, just after the ceremony held for the 54th anniversary of the university.  The YACC first started with 40 representatives from ten alumni associations of language departments, namely – Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Myanmar, Russian and Thai. Among the members, the president, vice-presidents, general secretary and joint secretaries, treasurer and auditor were chosen by election within.

To be highlighted, there are some financially strong persons among the members who are supporting the events organized by the association and contributing to the university. The main activities of the YACC are : – participation at the University Thingyan Festival (March 2018), the first and unforgettable Homage Paying Ceremony for the retired Teachers of the University and Gathering party for all Major Alumni (October 2018), and  rewards given ceremony to the teachers who submitted international research papers in 2018 (January 2019). The YACC cooperates with the university in helping students exploring job opportunities or internship programs especially for the final year students, gives financial support occasionally to the YUFL Student Union, advises the University for its development in the required fields, discusses and participates in the meetings of making the content of the University Charter and so on.

As the university has been expanding new languages, teaching methodology and knowledge sharing in accordance with the modern era, the YUFL Alumni Central Committee expects to contribute a strong role in fulfilling the aims of the university and to take part a firm role when the institution finished drafting its own Charter to run autonomously.

Daw Khin Swe Win,

Message from the YUFL Alumni Central Committee (YACC) President

Dear YUFL family and alumni from 10 Language Departments,

Welcome to the page of YUFL Alumni Central Committee (YACC).  I am honored to be the very first President of YACC which was newly born on 23rd of January 2018.  Our committee is made up of about 40 members who have proven themselves leaders in their careers, communities and their alma mater.  Each of these members represent University’s 10 major alumni associations such as Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Myanmar, Russian and Thai which were formed in 2016.

One of the first steps of our committee in 2018 was the Homage Paying Ceremony for the retired Teachers of the University during 55 years since its establishment in 1964 and all major alumni gathering. The ceremony was first time organized by the YACC and it was successfully convened at Karaweik Palace in Yangon on October 6, 2018. The second step was giving the grant for researcher teachers who have presented their research papers in oversea countries.

Finally, I owe a huge debt of gratitude to our Rector of YUFL, Dr. Kyi Shwin. Sayargyi has worked tirelessly to advance the activities of our committee.  Without his leadership and his unceasing advocacy for YUFL and YACC, we would not have been in this status.  In particular, a big Thank You to our committee members and the great contributors who have participated in our workmanship.

The success of the YACC will depend on the support and contributions of members and friends.

Daw A Zun Mo,

Daw Aye Thida Moe,

Daw Yupar Shein,

Daw Lwin Lwin Cho,

Daw Zun Me Saw Naung,

Dr. Thurein Naing Aung Hein,

U Aung Aung Pe ,

U Aung Ko Ko Latt,

U Hnin Khaing,

U Hpone Kwaw,

U Khin Aung Htoo,

U My Kyaw Kyaw,

U Than Naing Aung,